OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE
IN HENRY COUNTY
WHERE TO APPLY
You must apply in person at the Office of Barbara M. Link, Henry County Clerk/Recorder, 307 W. Center Street, Cambridge, IL 61238. Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday – Friday, open thru the noon hours.
WHEN TO APPLY
Both the bride and groom must appear in person when applying for a marriage license. Illinois law requires that the marriage license must be applied for and issued at least one day prior to the marriage ceremony. The license is good for 60 days from the day of purchase. If the license is not used within that 60 day period, the license becomes void.
USE OF MARRIAGE LICENSE
The marriage license can only be obtained from the county in which the marriage ceremony is performed. The license is not valid in any other county or country.
Illinois law requires that you must be the age of 18 years old to be married without parental consent. Please bring a photo ID when applying for license. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, both parents must appear in person to sign a parental consent form at the time the license is being applied for. Illinois law prohibits the marriage of anyone under the age of 16. Please contact a legal advisor. This office does not provide legal advice.
FEE (as of 3/1/2016)
The fee for a marriage license in Henry County is $50.00 payable at the time of application.
No blood tests are required to obtain a marriage license in Illinois.
MARRIAGE BY A JUDGE
If you wish to be married by a judge, you must contact the Henry County Circuit Clerk’s Office at (309) 937-3572.